Hungry

Standard

I commute to the city to work, about 45 minutes drive usually.

I know, I never wanted to be in a commuting position. But working at my dad’s Alma Mater college was too much of an opportunity to give up, even if it’s working part time in their events.

I use the time in my car to listen to music, podcasts, or meditations.

I was deeply engaged in my Paranormal Podcast by Jim Harold (which I recommend!!!) when the light turned green, and I realized there was a man on the street who looked homeless, who had a simple sign:

“Hungry, Please Help.”

But I was already driving with the flow of traffic, and  he was one lane over from me, even if we were stopped.

But I didn’t see him until it was too late. For some reason, this triggered an emotional reaction (with me sitting in my green Prius I named Tinker Bell, with my Tinker Bell Fairy decal sticker on the back, listening to my podcast, driving to work, when outside my window is this helpless man on the street) and I started to cry.

I have to be honest, I don’t help out beggars that often. I don’t feel good about the situation – but my husband and I are scraping by now until things change. But I deeply sympathize with their situations and I always wonder how they got there and how they’re surviving. What happened to their family and friends? A lot of homeless people have mental issues, as far as I have heard, and that could play a big part.

(I could go into a side note and speak about my mother’s struggle in life, constant downfalls even to where she had to live with us for 11 months, or be on the street, since she was homeless. Her story is a long one with lots of traumatic issues that she grew up that remained with her mentally and emotionally. It’s a heartbreaking story that I may write about one day. And although she and I don’t agree or get along, she is the strongest survivor I know.)

But no matter the reasons for beggars being on the street, I feel like a beggar asking for money is trying to take away my hard earned cash. HOWEVER, if they just have a sign that says “Hungry,” then they’re not asking for cash to spend who knows how they spend it. (Do you hear about those people who dress up being homeless for the money and acts like it’s their job to beg? People that are perfectly capable of getting real jobs?)

BUT If someone just wants food, you’re not wondering if this person is really homeless, or just acting homeless. They’re hungry.

And I had a banana in my lunchbox.

And my car was driving away.

I could’ve just handed the man…

Sigh.

So I felt bad. After I felt my feelings for the world, I decided to send him healing energy and light and prayers. I asked the universe to find him helping hands and food in his belly.

I can’t help everyone. I feel like I can barely help anyone… except perhaps with prayers, positive energy that I can move and shift towards him & others in need. I can co-work with the universe, Angels, Jesus, Goddess/God, Fairies, all those good benevolent beings who I turn to… and with prayers and positive energy sent, perhaps something GOOD will be received. Perhaps some people’s lives can be changed.

I hope & know that some people are braver than me and will always help the homeless, whether they have money or whatever they choose to give. But I tell you, my prayers are powerful. All of our prayers and projections are.

This is how I can take action.

What are your thoughts??

 

Until next time.

Namaste With Love

~Celestial K.

Celestialk.weebly.com

2 thoughts on “Hungry

  1. I think your heart is in the right place. And you’re right. You can’t help everyone. One thing you might do. Keep a gift card to McDonalds in the car for times such as that. When you give it to someone you KNOW they’re going to get something to eat with it. Some folks at our church carry little bags of food/snacks, etc. in their cars and hand them out.

    It’s scary proposition sometimes. You have to be discerning.

    Calen~
    Impromptu Promptlings
    A to Z Challenge Letter U

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

